Google Reader is going away, but don’t despair, Feedly.com has come to the rescue!

So I was mega bummed when I found out that Google was killing off Reader. It was like an old friend, I’m very sad to see it go. Given the fast approaching (July 1!) end of life date, I realized today that I really needed to move my gazillion feeds to a new service, and I needed to do it quickly. And I was REALLY dreading it.

Enter stage left http://www.feedly.com.

I went to their site at the suggestion of a friend, and there, right on the main page was a giant colorful “Import Your Google Reader” button. The call to action was so strong and well placed, that even though I had originally just stopped there to preview the service offerings I decided to give it a whirl. I figured that worst case scenerio I could always delete the account afterward.

I clicked the button, it sent me to an authentication screen, and since I’d already logged into Google during my browser session, I didn’t even have to enter my credentials! I clicked authorize and that was it! It went out to my account and sucked in all of my zillion feeds in a matter of about 3 seconds.

My account was created, my feeds were imported, I was finished! It was by far the least painful product transition/migration I have ever experienced.

I just wanted to give a shout out to the awesome folks at Feedly for creating such a frictionless import process! Amazing UX at it’s finest!

And to any of you who have been procrastinating on finding a replacement for our dearly beloved Google Reader like I have been, give Feedly.com a glance!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

