“Why do you love your job as a UX pro so much?”

I was chatting with a friend that I haven’t seen in years on the phone tonight. We were catching up on kids and careers and home purchases.
When I got off the phone, my daughter said, “Mom, why do you love your job so much? My friends’ parents hate their jobs but you LOVE yours! Why is that?”

I had to really, really think about my response, because there are about 90 million reasons that I love my job.

I love the people I work with, I love that my company helps to enhance school districts’ abilities to connect with their students, parents and communities, I love that my job lets me heap creative energy on each and every project, I love that we focus on finding new innovative ways for districts to leverage technology, the list goes on.

But the number one reason that I wake up pumped to go to work is: Each day I get to help come up with solutions for the problems that our clients face on a daily basis. My job is to help make peoples lives a little bit easier, through design.

Everything we do as a team, is to improve the experiences our clients have with our products. We find ways to save our fabulous clients time and energy, so that they can focus on educating the future of our country.

Working as a user experience pro lets me make the world better place, one little software interface at a time. So really, what’s not to love?

Side note: I showed this sketch to my daughter and her only comment was, “Yo? Really mom?” Haha

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

