And then my kiddo asked,” Are wireframes really made out of wire?”

Tonight I was talking about our new design, and I mentioned that we’re nearly done with our latest wireframes.

My daughter turned around and asked, “Wait, mom… are wireframes really made out of wire?”

It was then that I remembered that prior to joining the design industry, wireframes were a magical, mystical sounding technical enigma.

20140310-204251.jpg

I drew this sketch, showed it to her, and she said, “Ohhhh. So wireframes are a plain way to show what the user will need to do, and high res mockups are when you add pictures and colors and make it a fancy example?”

And just like that, my kiddo learned more about design at age 10 than I knew at age 20.

Leave a Reply

