Pareto Principle Based User Research Methodology

Recently I had the opportunity to present at the 2013 Web Conference at Penn State. My session focused on some Pareto Principle Based User Research that I’d had the opportunity to conduct for Schoolwires. We are always interested in new user research methods and usability testing tools. We’ve found some great ones over the past few years, but this particular research method was probably one of the most powerful.

It’s Quick and Cheap

To be honest, we have an extremely supportive senior management team, so we have the resources available to spend whatever is necessary to to ensure that our testing is getting done thoroughly and the right way. It just so happens though, that this method is incredibly cheap!

If you’re working for a company that keeps telling you that you don’t have the time, money or resources available to conduct user research, then this is the study for you. It’s amazingly quick & cheap, and it yields powerful results!

This PowerPoint Reads Like a Blog

You’re going to notice that these presentation slides are really plain, and bulleted and detailed. I wanted folks who attended my session to be able to download the presentation and recreate the entire study with ease when they left the conference and went back to their organizations, so I wrote the presentation more like a blog post.

Check It Out

You can check it out here: User Research Power Tool: Pareto Principle Based Usability Research

I hope you all find this research method as beneficial as our organization did!

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Pareto Principle Based User Research Methodology

  1. Mitch says:

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add
    to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    • jma245 says:

      Hi Mitch! There is actually a WordPress Widget you can add to your blog! Just go to Appearance then Widgets, and select Twitter and place it wherever you’d like your Twitter feed to display. I hope this helps! 🙂

  2. Cody says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

    • jma245 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words Cody! It’s a free theme, I’m a fan! I believe it’s called Chunk Theme. Have a fabulous afternoon, and thanks for commenting! 🙂

  3. Titus says:

    Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new updates.

  4. […] Pareto Principle Based User Research Methodology […]

Leave a Reply

