A Complete Mobile Usability Testing Solution

The Problem

Recently I wrote a blog post about how there are currently a couple of really great mobile usability testing tools out there, but I couldn’t find any that did everything I needed.

I tweeted my article, and one of the partners at Zurb shot me a message. We got chatting about SolidifyApp and UXRecorder and how I really wished there was a single tool that did what those two tools do best.

SolidifyApp lets you create clickable prototypes for usability testing, then does gesture tracking, allows you to create tasks that need to be completed by testers, gives them the opportunity to give feedback and then gives you some killer stats.

UXRecorder does screen & gesture capture, as well as audio & front facing camera video capture of tester faces.

The Solution

UXRecorder lets you enter URL’s for web apps and prototypes. I tested it this afternoon and you can also enter your SolidifyApp Usability Test URL in UXRecorder, and combine the best of both worlds into one killer Mobile Usability Testing solution!

To recap, by running your SolidifyApp test in UXRecorder you can obtain:

1. Gesture tracking data
2. Screen capture video
3. Gesture capture video
4. Front facing camera tester facial video
5. Tester audio
6. Task completion statistics
7. Written user feedback
8. Etc!

It does all the things! It’s Mobile Usability Testing magic, I’m telling you! And, it only takes minutes to set up! Goodbye Mobile Usability Testing market gap! I am majorly pumped about this solution!

Free Stuff

The best part? SolidifyApp has a 30 day free trial, and UXRecorder gives you a 30 second free session to test their app out before you commit to purchase to ensure that it’s the right solution for you! (I can tell you from experience that once you’ve tried SolidifyApp, you’ll want to subscribe. It’s currently one of my favorite usability testing tools!)

SolidifyApp http://www.solidifyapp.com

UX Recorder http://www.uxrecorder.com

I’ve been searching for weeks trying to find this Mobile Usability Testing combination! I hope it serves you all well!

8 thoughts on “A Complete Mobile Usability Testing Solution

Add yours

    1. Thank you so much! Solidify App works GREAT for remote unmoderated usability tests! It’s my very favorite remote mobile usability testing tool in fact! UX Recorder is more for moderated mobile testing, since you have to download the app and pay per session or for an unlimited use license per Apple ID. And, you have to export the actual recording file to the device camera roll or connected dropbox account when you’re done. It’s perfect for moderated testing on designated devices though! 🙂

  1. Hi, Jennifer. How has it been going with the solidify/uxrecorder combo since you wrote this post a couple of months ago? I have looked at UX recorder but it seems to make such a huge video file that we have not tried it for a full length test yet.

    1. I’ve been using it for small tests, so I haven’t run into the giant file sizes, but you’re right it would be awesome if they could integrate video compression in the future! We’ll have to tweet them the feature request, I think it’s a great one!

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

